Help

Basic County Corrections Course

The East Texas Police Academy holds multiple Basic County Corrections Courses (BCCC) across the East Texas Council of Governments (ETCOG) and ARKTEX Council of Governments service-delivery areas. The BCCC is 120 hours of instruction. Following successful completion of the BCCC, those meeting the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE) licensing requirements will be eligible to take the jailer licensing test.

The class typically meets Monday - Friday, 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM for 15 consecutive business days. However certain courses taught in Kilgore have extended hours and finish in fewer days. The BCCC is eligible for ETCOG funding depending on the student's employment status (Please see our sponsorship form for further details).

Tuition for all BCCC's beginning after January 1, 2020 will be $300.

 

2020 Basic County Corrections Course Offerings

Location

Dates

Instructor

Test Date

 

Courses in Kilgore

 (15 days, 8 hrs per day. M-F 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

 

Kilgore @ ETPA

January 13 - January 31

Rodney Burns

Tuesday, February 4, 2020

Kilgore @ ETPA

April 13 - May 1

Rodney Burns

Tuesday, May 5, 2020

Kilgore @ ETPA

June 8 - June 26

Rodney Burns

Tuesday, June 30, 2020

Kilgore @ ETPA

July 13 - July 31

Rodney Burns

Tuesday, August 4, 2020

Kilgore @ ETPA

October 12 - October 30

Rodney Burns

Tuesday, November 3, 2020

 

 

 

 

Location

Dates

Instructor

Test Date

 

Courses outside of Kilgore

 (15 days, 8 hrs per day. M-F 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM.)

 

Kilgore @ ETPA 

February 10 - February 28

Cindy Thurman 

Tuesday, March 3, 2020

Tyler @ Smith County 

March 16 - April 3

Cindy Thurman 

Tuesday, April 7, 2020

Kilgore @ ETPA 

May 11 - May 29

Cindy Thurman 

Tuesday, June 2, 2020

Henderson @ Rusk County

August 3 - August 21

Cindy Thurman 

Tuesday, August 25, 2020

Tyler @ Smith County 

September 14 - October 2

Cindy Thurman 

Tuesday, October 6, 2020

Kilgore @ ETPA

November 2 - November 20

Cindy Thurman 

Tuesday, November 24, 2020

 

 

 

 

Location

Dates

Instructor

Test Date

 

Courses outside of Kilgore

 (13 days, 8 hrs per day. M-F 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM.)

 

Texarkana @ Bi-State Jail

January 13 - January 31

Norris Jordan

Tuesday, February 4, 2020

 

 

 

 

Location

Dates

Instructor

Test Date

 

Courses outside of Kilgore

(15 days, 8 hrs per day. M-F 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM.)

 

Hopkins County SO

March 23 - April 10

Corley Weatherford 

Tuesday, April 14, 2020

Effective 01/01/2009, employed jailers are required to wear their duty uniforms to class. Non-employed students are required to wear business casual clothing.

TCOLE rule §217.1, Minimum Standards for Enrollment and Initial Licensure, now requires that in order for you to attend certain classes, academies must maintain documentation of a student's status as either a licensed officer or a non-licensed individual who has the necessary credentials to qualify them to be licensed by the Commission.

Effective 08/12/2019, all applicants must complete the ETPA Licensing Course Applicant Declaration Page.

If you're scheduled to attend a class which falls under this rule -- including the Basic County Corrections Course -- please complete one of the following applications and the ETPA Personal History Statement:

====================

***Employed TCOLE Licensee***

 

***Non-Employed or Non-Licensed Employee***

 

***ETPA Personal History Statement***

 

***ETPA Licensing Course Applicant Declaration Page***

====================

Personal History Statement

Pursuant to a new TCOLE Rule, all students seeking entry to any licensing course must complete a Personal History Statement. The ETPA PHS must be turned in with the student's sponsorship. While the information may be identical, we require all applicants to compete the ETPA provided PHS.

Fingerprints: If you are not a currently employed TCOLE Licensee, you must go through the FAST System for your fingerprints. You must print out the form below and take it with you to your appointment.

====================

***Download the ETPA FAST Form Here***

====================

 

TCOLE Licensing Exam Information:

ETPA does have a state-exam license and does offer the licensing exam.  The cost is $30 per student.  Click HERE for more information.

Notices:  (1.)  ETPA reserves the right to cancel, prior to the first day of class, any scheduled basic county corrections course due to low enrollment; and (2.) please be advised that ETPA does not participate in the WIA (“Workers Investment Act”) Program.