Help

Civilian Handgun Licensing

The East Texas Police Academy is excited to be offering Texas Handgun Licensing Courses.

On January 1st, 2016, “Open Carry” with a license became lawful in Texas. House Bill 910, which legalized Open Carry and made sweeping changes to civilian handgun laws in Texas, is a very nuanced and technically complicated bill. For those wanting to carry a handgun in Texas - whether openly or concealed - it is extremely important to fully understand the limitations and protections outlined in the law.

Our instructors have decades of law enforcement experience, with vast experience in specialties including: Special Weapons and Tactics (SWAT); crime scene and shooting reconstruction; Criminal Investigations; Homicide Investigations; and Police Officer Involved Shooting investigations. In addition to being certified by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) to teach handgun licensing classes, our instructors are veteran law enforcement firearms instructors; teach Use of Force concepts and law on a regular basis; and all hold Master Peace Officer licenses.

Participants should provide their own firearm. In certain instances the East Texas Police Academy will be able to furnish a firearm for participants to use in the course (please contact Mike Augustine for more information). Participants also need to provide their own ammunition (50 rounds) to qualify with. Students may want to bring additional ammunition in the event they need to re-attempt the qualification course. Please note that this is a basic licensing course - participants need to have basic shooting skills to ensure that they will be able to shoot a minimum qualifying score before attending.

Please click here for more specific requirements and required equipment.

 

Upcoming 2016 Civilian Handgun Offerings

Date

Time

Cost

Location

Saturday, 02/20/2016

8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

$75.00

East Texas Police Academy Range

Saturday, 03/12/2016

8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

$75.00

East Texas Police Academy Range

Saturday, 03/19/2016

8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

$75.00

East Texas Police Academy Range


Class size is limited to 20. Participants must register with the East Texas Police Academy before the class start date. To register, please contact us here or call 903.983.8663.

If you are interested in scheduling or hosting a private class, please contact us here or call 903.988.7599.

Unless otherwise specified, training will be held at the East Texas Police Academy Range, located at:

1810 CR 174E
Kilgore, TX
75662

For specific information on licensing requirements, click here.

For all other questions, please contact us here, or call 903.983.8663.

Note: All participants must meet minimum licensing standards as required by the Department of Public Safety.